Over lunch, I went gaga over Aldo's clearance sale online. Snagged 2 delicious pumps and 2 hobo bags. Woot!
Now, I can't concentrate at work because I'm too excited! My boyfriend is coming to Manila this August 8 for my birthday, and he's bringing all the stuff with him (since I had it shipped to his hotel to avoid evil courier charges).
I wonder, why can't brands like Aldo, Nine West, etc. carry the same styles at prices that reasonable? Why can't the Philippines be more fashion forward (pun intended) like HK, Singapore, or Malaysia even? Why do we have to settle for knock-offs or overruns when clearly, Filipinos are sale suckers too?
Anyhoo, at least I've got a personal assistant (just kidding!) to take care of S&H for my impulsive superficial needs. Maybe long distance relationships aren't so bad after all.
Thursday, July 23, 2009
Wednesday, July 22, 2009
Open for occupancy

In a perfect world--well, in my perfect world:
-Cigarettes wouldn't cause health complications
-Lacuna (from Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind) existed
-Tap water would adjust to your body's temperature
-It would be safe from drunk and horny men who rape little girls and boys
-The perfect background music would play in every "real moment"
-Ice cream, chocolate and all that's gummy would contain 0 calories
-Teleportation would be readily available
-You wouldn't need a green thumb to grow pretty flowers
-No one would get into accidents
-And there would be no stupid motorcycle drivers
-Everyone would have a view of the sunset
-The government would fund everything fairly
-Or how about having no government at all (questionable factor..)
-Money could grow on trees
-People had the ability to stop time, go back, and make up for their mistakes
-There would be honest businessmen and lawyers
-Everyone knew how to dance
-Farts didn't have to smell that bad
-Elevators could "block" people from making it stop on their way up/down
-There would be no nappy curls, zits and scars
-Mary Poppins lived
-All forms of sexual expression and orientation were respected
-Lady Luck would be on everyone's side
-Religion and the origin of the universe could be explained literally in a book
-Young girls would be advised to take birth control
-You could buy X-Ray glasses or invisible paint or lotion
-Everything would contain a microchip with some ultra-magnetic force capability so that nothing would get lost
-Parents would be much cooler
-And the kids wouldn't grow up (Just like Holden Caulfield thought)
Which brings me to my final point--a quote actually, I picked up somewhere I can't quite remember:
"The most unfair thing about life is the way it ends. I mean, life is tough. It takes up a lot of your time. What do you get at the end of it? A death! What's that, a bonus? I think the life cycle is all backwards. You should die first, get it out of the way. Then you live in an old age home. You get kicked out when you're too young, you get a gold watch, you go to work. You work forty years until you're young enough to enjoy retirement. You drink alcohol, you party, and you get ready for high school. You go to grade school, you become a kid, you play, you have no responsibilities, you become a little baby, you go back into the womb, you spend your last 9 months floating... then you finish of as an orgasm!!!"
What's your perfect world like?
Sunday, July 19, 2009
Eyes NOT wide open
Waking up this morning was just horrendous. After skipping work on Friday and staying home yesterday, I was greeted by my last day of "freedom" with major itchiness and swelling in my left eye. I've been fighting the urge to see a doctor but then that damned ointment proved itself useless so I had to give in.
With my health card and pride, I braved to ask my dad (for the first time in a month now) a favor, to drive me to the ER. Blessed as I always am, he obliged.
Now, I am forced to restrict the use of antibiotic eye solutions, which sucks because of my tendencies to self-medicate and well, sometimes, overdose. The itch is still bugging the hell out of me and so is the pain every single time I blink (which, according to trivia, is twice more often than men do).
Luckily (or is it really?), the stye is somewhat inverted, or inside, meaning no disgusting puss build-up has occurred. That would look scary, not to mention annoying, especially with all the "peeping Tom" jokes I'll be getting in the office.
Based on what I've read, styes are usually borne out of bacteria, excess oil or stress. I try my best to keep my face free from oil, and I don't really stress myself out too often. The verdict then would most likely be the old sponge I've been using to put my liquid foundation on.
There, I just threw it away. Here's to literally seeing a better tomorrow.
With my health card and pride, I braved to ask my dad (for the first time in a month now) a favor, to drive me to the ER. Blessed as I always am, he obliged.
Now, I am forced to restrict the use of antibiotic eye solutions, which sucks because of my tendencies to self-medicate and well, sometimes, overdose. The itch is still bugging the hell out of me and so is the pain every single time I blink (which, according to trivia, is twice more often than men do).
Luckily (or is it really?), the stye is somewhat inverted, or inside, meaning no disgusting puss build-up has occurred. That would look scary, not to mention annoying, especially with all the "peeping Tom" jokes I'll be getting in the office.
There, I just threw it away. Here's to literally seeing a better tomorrow.
Wednesday, July 8, 2009
For the first time, I can say "It's not you, it's me."
And so it's done. Who would've thought? Or maybe I should take that question back, because it's probably only me whodathunk it.
The patience and negativity have taken it's toll, alright, and now, well, for now, it's all just me again. Alone.
But also, now, well, for now, I think it's for the best.
The patience and negativity have taken it's toll, alright, and now, well, for now, it's all just me again. Alone.
But also, now, well, for now, I think it's for the best.
Saturday, July 4, 2009
Weekly round-up
The four day work week allowed me more room to finish a few articles for the magazine. For this issue, I believe I'm doing close to 40% of the content (of course, subject to my editor's approval) and I've got 6 left to go!! I'm so happy, especially since my deadline was moved to mid-July.
*Riding an electronic bull and going woot-woot*
I still can't believe though how I managed to spend our city's holiday last Thursday working at the Starbucks right across our street. Normally, I would savor days like this by planning some trip to the mall, doctor, dentist (my gum recession is annoying me, even if it is, in the words of my dentist, "a clean cavity") or salon. I've been too lazy to hit Shangri-la even if I dream everyday about all the sales going on, esp. at Zara and Mango. Must get more of their basic tees, etc.! I hope I could swing by tomorrow--if I don't get a hangover.
Still contemplating on whether I should go out tonight or not. One college friend is having her grad party, and so I'm crashing that (talk about class.. hah!) with one of my best girlfriends. I've been sick all day, with a nasty cough due to last night's dramedy. Also been so fidgety from all the caffeine (2 mugs of coffee + tea). My heart is beating like a mother. How do I make this normal again?
I was quite calm earlier today anyway when I was sorting out all the music and album artworks for my iTunes... SUPER GEEK! My med school friend even passed by the house and hung out for a bit for lunch before her flag football game, and I still couldn't stop sorting my Library. OC ALERT!
Goddddd. My heart is pounding so faaaaaaaaaaast. Make it stopppppppp.
*Riding an electronic bull and going woot-woot*
I still can't believe though how I managed to spend our city's holiday last Thursday working at the Starbucks right across our street. Normally, I would savor days like this by planning some trip to the mall, doctor, dentist (my gum recession is annoying me, even if it is, in the words of my dentist, "a clean cavity") or salon. I've been too lazy to hit Shangri-la even if I dream everyday about all the sales going on, esp. at Zara and Mango. Must get more of their basic tees, etc.! I hope I could swing by tomorrow--if I don't get a hangover.
Still contemplating on whether I should go out tonight or not. One college friend is having her grad party, and so I'm crashing that (talk about class.. hah!) with one of my best girlfriends. I've been sick all day, with a nasty cough due to last night's dramedy. Also been so fidgety from all the caffeine (2 mugs of coffee + tea). My heart is beating like a mother. How do I make this normal again?
I was quite calm earlier today anyway when I was sorting out all the music and album artworks for my iTunes... SUPER GEEK! My med school friend even passed by the house and hung out for a bit for lunch before her flag football game, and I still couldn't stop sorting my Library. OC ALERT!
Goddddd. My heart is pounding so faaaaaaaaaaast. Make it stopppppppp.
Friday, July 3, 2009
Love in the time of recession
Right now, I really feel like banging my head on a wall.
Why oh why did I never listen to my friends' advice about long distance relationships? How could I have been so idealistic and assuming that everything would be peachy keen in the end?
After one happy year, everything is just going down too fast and too soon. I've been pondering on this for the past couple of days and now that plans are finally being defined, here I am with the jitters. At the back of my mind, I knew it wasn't going to be as easy as packing bags, leaving town, and starting a new life here. I blame myself partly for discounting that part of reality which I am now facing. It's gonna take at least another six months for all variables to be settled, and after already waiting for the past six months, I'm not quite sure if I can finish this dragging journey.
It's been fun, but it's also been exhausting. The idea of living a restricted but free kind of social life has become boring. Moreover, the uncertainty of the end result is even adding more pressure to the situation.
Is it worth it? I don't know. But really, how do you measure a year?
And what do you do once you've realized it's been wasted waiting for something you can no longer wait for?
Why oh why did I never listen to my friends' advice about long distance relationships? How could I have been so idealistic and assuming that everything would be peachy keen in the end?
After one happy year, everything is just going down too fast and too soon. I've been pondering on this for the past couple of days and now that plans are finally being defined, here I am with the jitters. At the back of my mind, I knew it wasn't going to be as easy as packing bags, leaving town, and starting a new life here. I blame myself partly for discounting that part of reality which I am now facing. It's gonna take at least another six months for all variables to be settled, and after already waiting for the past six months, I'm not quite sure if I can finish this dragging journey.
It's been fun, but it's also been exhausting. The idea of living a restricted but free kind of social life has become boring. Moreover, the uncertainty of the end result is even adding more pressure to the situation.
Is it worth it? I don't know. But really, how do you measure a year?
And what do you do once you've realized it's been wasted waiting for something you can no longer wait for?
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)