Listening to Nas's song on my way up to the 20th floor today seemed so appropriate the second we landed on the 10th. The doors opened, and about five call center agents, rowdy, like how they mostly are, came in and pressed the number 11 button.
Now, if my calculations are correct, that's just about one floor up...
And what, they couldn't take the stairs?!?
UGH.
One thing I loathe about my building is that in its 40 or so levels, there are about 3-4 FREAKING CALL CENTER COMPANIES operating in at least 7 floors (I haven't done the Math). And I'm not gonna lie--with people like that populating your workplace, it can get nasty.
I mean, don't get me wrong, I'm all for the booming BPO industry and the wonders it has provided for the economy and people. But why is it that every time I see or listen to CSRs/TSRs behave and talk, I feel as if some of them think the whole world owes them a living?
In particular, I HATE it when I'm on my way to the ground, alone and hoping for a smooth and uninterrupted ride, and then the cage stops on 11 because some poor loser can't use his God-given legs to go down to the 10th. I don't own the elevator (and on these occasions, I really wish I did) but think about it. I'm sure most people wait longer for the lift to come, thinking that it's more convenient than taking the stairs one floor down. It's ridiculous!!
Of course, if you're part of the building's maintenance team, or someone selling lunch, or carrying a lot of things, FINE, GO AHEAD, YOU HAVE MY BLESSING. But unless you have a foot problem or no feet at all, PLEASE, have mercy on other people. Spare us your sloth!
I hope this serves as a message to anyone who is too lazy to take that extra flight down. Don't be afraid of exercise.
Tuesday, June 30, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment